Journey

I still remember how at the beginning of my trip everything was overwhelming and being with my travelling buddy was the best thing that could happen to me. Very few weeks after, we separated and I found my own way. It was all about being alone and chatting to people all day at the same time. About getting to the street and letting the day take you by surprise. The streets were all the museums that I needed and there was always a stranger to have a chai with. Then, India introduced me very good friends that still remind close to me although in the distance.

I learnt to travel with friends and learnt to say goodbye to them as well. India gave me the most glorious moments, the funny ones, the surprising ones and many lessons as well. So many friends came and went away and some even came back again. I learnt how a person can be your best friend in just one day. And how an stranger can truly take care of you. But my trip was still mostly about me.
Then I moved on and saw different vibes in SE Asia. Youngsters and not so young people having fun in different ways, exploring different cultures and moving. The hostels were the main social meeting point and everyone was ready to make new friends everyday. I met marvellous people, I had some people that marked my way and made me be a better person and also others that were gone the same way that they appeared. I also learnt to let go people despite feelings and emotions.
Couchsurfing started here for me as well and it was some milestone, giving me the best experience ever, culminating in a wedding. My journey kept going and after those awesome experiences I needed more butterflies in my stomach and strong emotions.
So I decided to move out and change continents and I discovered new ways of travelling, different people with different interests that made me forget all I was looking for and helped me to focus in what I was living. I stopped looking for repeating the strong emotions in the past and I came back to SE Asia with new ideas and no plans. And I fixed a plan and my plan went completely ruined by things out of my control. And like that, I just kept moving because it is the only thing I know now and that brought me the chance to meet some more people that I might have not considered very important by then but has become important somehow and has occupied great part of the story, maybe with them not being aware of it. But I kept moving, centred on myself and unbalanced by a powerful lightening striking constantly and more powerful every time.
I changed my plans and went further West to mingle in different cultures where I found difficulties in mingling and interacting. Nevertheless, the experiences were always superb when mingling with the locals, no matter how difficult.
My journey took me to lands more restrictive where it was impossible to enjoy myself as much as I wished but pushed me into lands that were closer to home and brighten up by the striking thunderbolt that crossed my path.
And that’s how I am coming back to Europe. Land of home but still not home. And in company of some thunder going on.
Leave a Reply

